Recent Posts

Archive for the ‘Maryland House of Delegates’ Category

Governor Hogan Creates Commission To Ease Anti-Business Regulations

Friday, July 10th, 2015

Maryland Governor Larry Hogan announced yesterday the signing of an executive order which creates a new 10 member commission. The Regulatory Reform Commission is being tasked with reviewing every regulation on the books as it relates to doing business in Maryland. This is a continuation of his campaign promise to make Maryland open for business. The 3 year commission will report yearly, no later than December 1 of each year.

Some people, including House Speaker Michael Busch were critical of the plan. According to the Baltimore Sun, critics are concerned that the panel is made up mostly of CEOs and Presidents of companies. They are upset because there are no non-profit or environmental members. What I think the critics fail to realize is that the panel is just part of a process, and a much needed process. The governor was elected in part because Marylander’s are fed up with being 49th in job growth, they are fed up with over-burdensome regulations. The panel needs to be able to work unobstructed to review the regulations, and to be able to highlight those that need to be revised or eliminated. Once the recommendations are put forth, then we as the citizens of this great state have the ability to voice our opinion, and to speak out against proposals that are unsatisfactory. The Governor can always appoint additional members if he determines the need.

Speaker Busch is quoted as having said “He has the right to review every regulation.” He continued that any legislative proposals would be “highly scrutinized” by the house. Of course that is the right of the Speaker, and we can be sure that he will. The Sun article points out that O’Malley had a similar regulation review that revised or eliminate 130 regulations in 2012. Speaker Busch also is quoted as recalling that Governor Donald Schaefer did the same in the early 90′s. As the Chief Executive of the state, Gov. Hogan should be reviewing every regulation, there are no doubt tons of regulations that need to be lifted off of the backs of our businesses.

Commission Members
Lt. Governor Boyd Rutherford, Honorary Chair
James A. Soltesz, co-chair
Abba David Poliakoff, co-chair
Susan J. Ganz
Jay Steinmetz
Henry Gilford III
William B. Grant, Esq., CFP
Jennifer Rhodes
Joseph G. Baldwin
Howard Bowen
James T. Brady

Governor Hogan Press Release
Baltimore Sun

Maryland Legislators Working On So-Called “Bathroom Bill”

Friday, March 7th, 2014

Editor’s Note: this is a guest post by Anita Schatz. As you may have heard Maryland legislators are working on The Fairness for All Marylanders Act, which has been nicknamed the “Bathroom Bill”. The bill has already passed the Maryland Senate, and is now sitting in committee in the Maryland House. Progressive Democrats are hailing this as a non-discrimination bill. Republicans are right to point out that this bill, which removes the gender restrictions of bathrooms, could open the door to sexual predators to lurk in female bathrooms. Anita has included the names and numbers of the committee with a brief note on their voting status if known. There is a link to more info at the bottom.

Tell them to vote NO to Bill 1265 because it will open the door to sexual predators to enter private areas like locker rooms, showers, bathrooms, dorms and dressing rooms to do harm to children and women.
Tell them there is nothing in this bill to prevent the Transgender agenda from being added to public or private school curriculum either. The employment part of the bill will allow Transgenders to work in schools, as administrators, teachers, janitors, cafeteria works, etc. This is how they change the curriculum to indoctrinate the children.

D PETER A. HAMMEN, CHAIRMAN (410) 841-3772, (301) 858-3772 District 46 Baltimore City
D SHANE E. PENDERGRASS, VICE CHAIR (410) 841-3139, (301) 858-3139 District 13 Howard County
D ERIC M. BROMWELL (410) 841-3766, (301) 858-3766 District 8 Baltimore County
R ROBERT A. COSTA (410) 841-3551, (301) 858-3551 District 33b Anne Arundel County
D BONNIE L. CULLISON (410) 841-3883, (301) 858-3883 District 1 Montgomery County
D JOHN P. DONOGHUE (410) 841-3125, (301) 858-3125 District 2c Washington County
R DONALD B. ELLIOTT (410) 841-3118, (301) 858-3118 District 4b Carroll and Frederick Counties
R WILIAM FRANK (410) 841-3793, (301) 858-3793 District 42 Baltimore County N/A out sick
D JAMES W. HUBBARD (410) 841-3103, (301) 858-3103 District 23a Prince Georges’ County
R A WADE KACH (410) 841-3359, (301) 858-3359 District 5b Baltimore County voting NO
D ARIANA B. KELLY (410) 841-3642, (301) 858-3642 District 16 Montgomery County
R NICHOLAUS R. KIPKE (410) 841-3421, (301) 858-3421 District 31 AA County voting NO
R SUSAN W. KREBS (410) 841-3200, (301) 858-3200 District 9b Carroll County voting NO
R PATRICK L. McDONOUGH (410) 841-3334, (301) 858-3334 District 7 Baltimore & Harford Counties voting NO
D DAN K. MORHAIM (410) 841-3054, (301) 858-3054 District 11 Baltimore County
D PETER F. MURPHY (410) 841-3247, (301) 858-3247 District 28 Charles County
D SHIRLEY NATHAN-PULLIAM (410) 841-3358, (301) 858-3358 District 10 Baltimore County
D NATHANIEL T. OAKS (410) 841-3283, (301) 858-3283 District 11 Baltimore City
D JOSELINE A. PENA-MELNYK (410) 841-3502, (301) 858-3502 District 21 AA and P G Counties
R JUSTIN D. READY (410) 841-3070, (301) 858-3070 District 5a Carroll County
D KIRILL REZNIK (410) 841-3039, (301) 858-3039 District 39 Montgomery County
D SHAWN Z. TARRANT (410) 841-3545, (301) 858-3545 District 40 Baltimore City
D VERONICA L. TURNER (410) 841-3212, (301) 858-3212 District 26 Prince George’s County

Link to the text on the HB 1265
House site for all the information on the bill

2016 Elections

Primary - 4/5/2016
General - 11/8/2016

Races to Watch

U.S. Senate

Barbara Mikulski (D) is retiring.

Top (D) Candidates
Donna Edwards
Chris Van Hollen

All 8 House Seats are up for election.

Current Representatives
1st - Andy Harris (R)

2nd - Dutch Reppersberger (D)

3rd - John Sarbanes (D)
Top candidates Dr. Mark Plaster (R).

4th - Donna Edwards (D) - running for Senate
Top candidates Anthony Brown (D), Glenn Ivey (D), George McDermott (?)

5th - Steny Hoyer (D)

6th - John Delaney (D) - may run for Senate
Top (R) candidates David Vogt (R), Kathy Afzali (R), Neil Parrott (R), Mike McKay (R).

7th - Elijah Cummings (D) - may run for Senate
Top candidates Calvin Ball (D), Corrogan Vaughn (R).

8th - Chris Van Hollen (D) - running for Senate
Top (D) candidates Kumar Barve, Valerie Ervin, Kathleen Mattews, Jamie Raskin
Top (R) candidates Frank Howard - potential